Red Kite



Red Kite announce details of their debut album ‘Songs For Crow’…

Once so common that Shakespeare described London as “a city of Red Kites and Crows”, the Red Kite (Milvus milvus) was persecuted and hunted to extinction throughout the 18th and 19th centuries. Its reintroduction, initiated in 1989 by the RSPB and the Joint Nature Conservation Committee, is now the most successful reintroduction of any bird species in Europe. In 2006 The Independent newspaper reported the first sighting of a Red Kite over London for 150 years…..

Formed in 2011 Red Kite are a six-piece alt-rock outfit from London. With three guitarists, two drummers, and equal parts hymn and squall, they release their debut album ‘Songs For Crow’ on Bonfire Night (Gunpowder, Treason & Plot). Inspired by the poetry of Ted Hughes, and recorded over the course of two years following a personally devastating sequence of events, the album touches on themes of death, loss, love and masculinity. For more info click here

Comprising of long-time friends Daniel Fisher (ex-Cooper Temple Clause), Laura Heggarty, Jim Dare, Paul Glover, Jon Cornwell and Nick Willes Red Kite’s debut LP is a powerful statement of intent. From the swirling multi-layered harmonies of Montreal through to the stripped back refrain of Dance With Crow and the rousing chorus-line of Poltergeist this album takes you on a journey. Punctuated by Fisher’s thought-provoking lyrics, rich instrumentation and deep rhythm section it’s no surprise that they have already picked up plaudits from the likes of Zane Lowe, Steve Lamacq and John Kennedy to name a few.

Produced by Tom Bellamy the album was initially made available to fans via a Pledge campaign on April 29th. It reached 100% of its target within four days of going live. Now everyone can hear the grandeur and majesty of this album in time for the fireworks to commence.

Red Kite release ‘Songs For Crow’ on November 5th through The Shipping Forecast.

Album: ‘Songs For Crow’ / Released: November 5th / Label: The Shipping Forecast / TSF 004

Red Kite

Track Listing:

1.         The Gathering Storm

2.         Montreal

3.         Streetlights

4.         Dance With Crow

5.         Spanish Courtyard

6.         Poltergeist

7.         Saddle Up, Son

8.         Calliope

9.         Red Blooded Males

10.       No Painter of Note

Live Dates:

Management: Jamie Johnston
Booking Agent: Steve Backman – Primary Talent
National and Online Press Team: Orbit PR
Karen Johnson
Nick Bateson
Radio Plugger – Toby Opperman –